Input your email

SEUA kindergarten

General Info

State Engineering University of Armenia is the legal successor of Yerevan Polytechnic Institute, which was founded in 1933 having only 2 faculties and 107 students.

The institute grew along with the Republic’s industrialization pace and in 1980-1985 reached its peak with about 25.000 students and more than 66 majors, becoming the largest higher education institution in Armenia and one of the most advanced engineering schools in USSR.

On November 29, 1991, the Yerevan Polytechnic Institute was reorganized and renamed State Engineering University of Armenia (SEUA). In 2005, by the Resolution of the RA Government the traditional name “Polytechnic” was returned to the University as an acronym.

During 78 years of its existence, the University has given nearly 115 thousand graduates who have contributed greatly to the development of the industry forming once powerful engineering manpower and technology base of Armenia.

At present SEUA has over 10 thousand students. The number of the regular academic staff of the University exceeds 1000, most of them with Degrees of candidate or Doctor of Science. With its developed research system and infrastructure the University is nationally recognized as the leading center in technical sciences.

Today the University in its central campus located in Yerevan and the Branch Campuses – in Gyumri, Vanadzor and Kapan, accomplishes 4 study programs of vocational, higher and post-higher professional education, conferring the qualification degree of junior specialist, bachelor, master and researcher. Besides the degree programs, the University also offers extended education courses by means of its faculties and a network of continuing education structures. The specialization scope of the university includes all the main areas of engineering and technologies represented by 43 Bachelor’s and 26 Master’s specializations in Engineering, Industrial Economics, Engineering Management, Applied Mathematics and Sociology.

The University has a leading role in the reformations of the higher education system in Armenia. SEUA was the first HEI in RA that introduced two and then three level higher education systems, implemented the European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) in harmony with the developments of the Bologna Process. During the last decade, the University has also developed an extended network of international cooperation including many leading Universities and research centers of the world.

The University is a member of European University Association (EUA), Mediterranean Universities Network, and Black sea Universities Network, is involved in many European and other international academic and research programs.